DASH project AIProHealth

AIProHealth

The AIProHealth (practical artificial intelligence for healthcare professionals) educational project, led by the Data Science Center in Health (DASH) of the UMCG, aims to contribute to the implementation of AI in healthcare in the near future.
There is still a lot of resistance to AI. “For some “AI” is feared as a threat of taking over human interaction. In this context, the AIProHealth project brought together experts from all areas and sectors (public and private) of healthcare and the serious gaming communities to co-create a unique program to put the hype of AI in perspective, while removing the fear of use of AI in healthcare practice. The project proposal has been selected for the EIT Health Education Portfolio 2021, enabling the first steps to be taken in the right direction.

The aim of the AIProHealth project is to develop a customisable AI teaching environment containing a massive open online course (MOOC) and a Face2Face course with as most important aspect a serious game. The MOOC will provide a first insight into the many aspects of AI in healthcare while the Face2Face course and serious game focus on the actual implementation of AI in healthcare practice. The focus of the training will be on the patient's journey, highlighting specific phases such as pre-care and diagnosis, as AI could play a major role in this in the near future. Players of the serious game will therefore have different roles, ranging from nurse to manager. In the game they work on real life scenarios in a needs-based serious game that can make use of different patient journeys.

Work is now underway on the further elaboration and interpretation of the project. The aim is to start the MOOC on FutureLearn and launch the serious game in the fall of 2021.

Relevance

Partners of AIProHealth

The UMCG is collaborating on this online learning environment with various EIT Health Associated partners and multiple companies. 

This group of partners covers the entire knowledge triangle, with representatives from education, research and industry. This will assure the best expertise and knowledge in the development of the courses. 

  • Expertise: 
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of trainer skills, patient perspective (patient journey), professional perspective on healthcare, technical content of AI and the ethical, legal and social side of AI.

    UMC Groningen 
    Data Science Center in Health



    Contact persons: 
    Peter van Ooijen: p.m.a.van.ooijen@umcg.nl
    Sara Roscioni: s.s.roscioni@umcg.nl
    UMC Staf EIT-programma: eit@umcg.nl
    Freek van der Spoel: f.h.van.der.spoel@umcg.nl
    Rosie Jordanova: r.t.jordanova@umcg.nl

  • Expertise: 
    Development of the education curriculum and MOOC of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of trainer skills, dissemination (via Futurelearn), technical content of AI and the ethical, legal and social side of AI. 

    University of Groningen

    Contact persons: 
    Tom Spits: t.spits@rug.nl
    Z. Kubinova: z.kubinova@rug.nl

  • Expertise: 
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of trainer skills, patient perspective (patient journey), professional perspective on healthcare, technical content of AI and the ethical, legal and social side of AI.

    University Hospital Cologne

    Contact persons: 
    Daniel Pinto dos Santos: daniel.pinto-dos-santos@uk-koeln.de 
    Sarah Denzel: sarah.denzel@uk-koeln.de 

  • Expertise: 
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of trainer skills, patient perspective (patient journey), professional perspective on healthcare, technical content of AI and the ethical, legal and social side of AI.

    University of Tartu

    Contact persons: 
    Elena Sugis: elena.sugis@ut.ee
    Jaak Vilo: vilo@ut.ee
    Raivo Kolde: raivo.kolde@ut.ee
    Eveli Kuuse: eveli.kuuse@ut.ee
    Kadi Erik: kadi.erik@ut.ee

  • Expertise: 
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of trainer skills, patient perspective (patient journey), professional perspective on healthcare, technical content of AI and the ethical, legal and social side of AI.

    University of Copenhagen 

    Contact persons: 
    Morten Scheibye-Knudsen: mscheibye@sund.ku.dk
    Camilla Krogh Christensen: camilla.krogh@sund.ku.dk

  • Expertise: 
    The serious game of AIProHealth will be developed together with the company 8D Games. 8D Games develops serious games and gamifications for healthcare, education, government and business, among others.

    8D Games

    Contact persons: 
    Maarten Stevens: maarten@8d-games.nl
    Bas Altenburg: bas@8d-games.nl

  • Expertise:
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of technical content of AI and the ethical, legal and social side of AI, AI case examples/ and new innovation. 

    OneVision Healthcare

    Contact persons: 
    Stefan Phillips: sph@onevision-healthcare.com

  • Expertise:
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of technical content of AI, AI case examples and new innovation. 

    ArtiQ

    Contact persons: 
    Marko Topalovic: marko.topalovic@artiq.eu

  • Expertise:
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of technical content of AI, AI case examples and new innovation. 

    Mediaire 

    Contact persons: 
    Jens Opalka: j.opalka@mediaire.de

  • Expertise:
    Development of the education curriculum of AIProHealth. Contribution in the field of technical content of AI, AI case examples and new innovation. 

    Algomedica
     

  • Expertise:
    HP and alumni recruitment, dissemination

    Invivox

    Contact persons: 
    Julien Delpech: jdelpech@invivox.com

     

  • Several organizations throughout Europe have expressed an interest in collaborating on the AIProHealth project. This list of partners will therefore be expanded even further.

Contact

Profile picture small Peter van Ooijen
Peter van Ooijen Associate professor of radiation oncology, Machine Learning Lab Coordinator

Bloemsingel 1